The Jesus Response

I apologize  for posting on Christianity & Homosexuality again, it has simply been an issue on my mind recently.


A few months ago, a report came out in which Ray Boltz, admitted that he has been struggling with this sexual identity and that he was in fact, homosexual.


While I was in my undergraduate studies at Taylor University – Boltz’s daughter, Liz, was also a student – Boltz played his farewell concert at Taylor University and I personally traveled down Botlz’s barn/studio in Muncie, Indiana to hear several artists perform. I had the opportunity to meet Boltz several times. He was a normal middle aged musician, with a collection of guitars, and a sleek, black Harley Davidson that would make even the most pious preson envious. At the time I did not suspect that he was struggling with his sexual identity, but in reality, he already determined that he was homosexual.


I am taken aback when he publicly came out. It just wasn’t something I was expecting. I personally don’t believe that homosexuality is Biblical, but experiences that I have gone through have also given me a perspective that earnestly, in practice and in theory, believes that those who are homosexual can be wonderful, loving, kind and even Godly people. I know that that is messy; I struggle with how someone can live I life that is remorselessly rooted in sin, yet still exhibit Godly characteristics. But the reality is that, it happens (we often acknowledge this to be so with other sins, why is homosexual actions as special case?)

I admit that I have not been keeping up with how the Christian community has responded, but pray that Christianity’s response has been and will be one filled with the complexity of love – maintaining the integrity of the Bible, while offering humble friendship.  As Christianity continues to deal with the issue of not only homosexuals, but homosexuals who also claim Christian faith, I pray that God will give us discernment, strength, and humility.


In a related subject, Bryan Loritts, pastor at Fellowship Memphis in Memphis TN, recently gave a challenging and humbling sermon about what the Christian response – Jesus’ Response – to homosexuality should be. Don’t listen if you want a sermon that will make you feel good. Listen if you want a sermon that will push you the think and behave more like Jesus Christ.

5 thoughts on “The Jesus Response

  1. I read some of the responses (online) the the article in Christianity Today about Boltz. Some were Christ-less to say the least. One woman had a thoughtful response that hadn’t occurred to me until she wrote it. She said, “I’m thankful that Ray is finally be truthful and not deceptive. He is no longer living out of pride, but living in honesty.” Now, I don’t know what he’s doing in the bedroom (nor do I want to know), but I do think that living in the closet is not being truthful or honest. To wait so many years must be hurtful to many people in his life.

  2. I think what’s always more frustrating to me is not when a person decides to come out, but when they choose to leave their families – leaving their spouse who they committed to, their children – I guess to me that’s always harder to get over. And really this happens so often, not because of homosexuality, but for so many other reasons. In the end, it’s a selfish response to something, whether it be discovering homosexual feelings, feelings for someone outside the marriage, feelings about being trapped in a life you didn’t imagine – whatever it is, it is still selfish to leave your family to pursue something separate to make yourself happy. I’m not sure I expressed that very well, but in essence it’s less about choose to live a homosexual lifestyle and more about betraying your commitment to your family.

  3. How often we toss around the words, “the truth shall make you free” and how often we bludgeon those whose truth is something other than what our experience, our beliefs, our prejudices would have us claim as valid for ourselves. We set ourselves as judges of what’s allowable for others based upon what we would allow for ourselves. Ain’t nothin’ easy. Ain’t nothin’ as simple or cut and dried as we’d like. Especially when it comes to others’ behavior.

Comments are closed.