Are they THAT different?

I posted a very similar post called Another Side, but feel the need to rehash it.

I have heard praises (and gripes) about Obama’s choice of Warren and Lowery as the bookends for his Inauguration. The general consensus is that Obama’s embrace of Warren and Lowery shows his bi-partisan desires and his inclusiveness. But I don’t totally see how Warren and Lowery are that different. Warren and Lowery both pursue social justice issues, though perhaps in different avenues. Lowery is a Civil Rights legend and is the namesake of a social justice institute in Atlanta, and Warren has a great passion for fighting Aids and Poverty in Africa.  Neither accept homosexual “marriage”, both also believe that those in the LGBT community should have rights. So what is so different about them? Am I missing something?

I know that even Lowery believes that they differ,

“I differ with [Rick Warren] sharply on his position on this issue,” Lowery told MSNBC’s David Shuster. “I don’t think we ought to put into law any discriminatory action against people because of race, ethnicity or sexual orientation. I oppose that. But that doesn’t stop me from being on a program with him.”

“I’ve never said I support gay marriage,” he added. “I support gay rights, and I support civil unions. Like a whole lot of people, I have some difficulty with the term ‘gay marriage’ because…deeply rooted in my heart and mind, marriage is associated with ‘man and woman.’ So I have a little cultural shock with that, but I certainly support civil unions, and that gay partners ought to have all the rights that any other citizens have in this country.”

But it seems like this characterization is more from the media than what Warren actually believes.


What is the apparent dissonance, why do so many assume these two pastors, from the same religious background and similar believes are so different? Is it skin color? Is it tone? Is it age? Is it civil rights legacy? Is it the stigma of “evangelicalism”? Is it assumed political party affiliation?


2 thoughts on “Are they THAT different?

  1. I was glad to see Warren because coming from the evangelical/pentecostal community I identify with his bible based beliefs but I also agree with Lowry as well. I found it sad that they attacked Warren, but I never recall anyone attacking Billy Graham, or even investigating Billy Grahams political opionions. The invocation and benediction are important pieces of the ceremonies we have involving the inauguration. Anyway thanks for posting this because I knew Rick Warren wasn’t the hateful person everyone made him out to be

  2. I agree! I never thought they were all that different… and I thought both gave very poignant prayers/benedictions. Though Lowery’s was more emotional for me to hear.

Comments are closed.